Rich Dad Education – Real Estate Blog

Dedicated to Elevating the Financial Well-Being of People from All Walks of Life

Escape the Rat Race

Rat Race

10 Things I Am Going to Do Today to Escape the Rat Race

Written by You

Today is going to be exceptional. I have wasted too many of my days on this earth not maximizing my potential, nor pursuing my dreams to the fullest. I want to desperately escape the Rat Race but far too often I have not acted as if that was truly a priority in my life. That will not be the case today. At the end of today I am going to grant myself a moment to look in the mirror and commend myself for a job well done. This day is going to be different and here are the things I am going to do today to make it so.

Today I will treat every human being I encounter with respect, dignity, and kindness. Too often in the past I have burnt bridges and failed to develop relationships with others. Not today. Today I will approach others with a smile on my face, a cheer in my voice, and a welcoming hello. I will be an active listener and polite and courteous in all respects. I will truly treat others how I wish to be treated.

Today I will draw on the inspiration of others. I will take a moment today to find a motivational quote or spend a few brief moments reading the story of someone else’s successful life. Undoubtedly I will encounter setbacks today and I want to have a re-energizing force on hand that I can use for inspiration.

Today I will turn off the television. Not only will I turn off the television but today I will also put my other hobbies aside. Perhaps I will take some time tomorrow or this weekend to pursue these pleasures, but not today. I do know that once I escape the Rat Race I will have plenty of time to spend as I see fit. Today I am going to focus on building the foundation of my life. There will be ample opportunity in the future to harvest the fruits of my labor but today I am going to focus on planting the seeds.

Today I replace procrastination with action. There has been something on my to-do list for quite some time. I didn’t do it yesterday. I didn’t do it the day before. Unfortunately, it has been on my list of things to do for far too long. I am tired of the stress it causes me and the bad habits it has been reinforcing. Today it gets eliminated from my list. In fact, the first thing I am going to do today is to take care of this thing. Naturally I don’t want to do it today, just like I didn’t want to do it yesterday, but when I go to sleep tonight it will be done.

Today I am going to add one person to my network. Robert Kiyosaki said “The richest people in the world look for and build networks. Everyone else just looks for work.” I have long recognized the wisdom in this statement but I have not dedicated the time to building my own network. Today I will reach out and find a way to add one person to my network. Perhaps this will be an old colleague, or perhaps I will seek out a new acquaintance. The only thing I know for sure is that at the end of the day I will have added one person to my network.

Today I am going to seize opportunity. At some point today an opportunity will present itself and I will not hesitate to act when it does. I am not sure in what form it will come, nor what time of day it will manifest itself, but when it does occur I will take advantage of it. In the past I have let fear and uncertainty prevent me from taking advantage of these opportunities but that will not be the case today. Today I am feeling frisky and bold, and I will seize that opportunity when it is presented.

Today I am going to put my education to work for me. I have studied, taken classes, read books, and become educated on various entrepreneurial activities. I do not have a perfect understanding of the material yet but I will start developing my expertise though action. I am aware that I may make mistakes today but I am not afraid of mistakes. I will end today with a real life experience that I can use as a building block for future days.

Today I will develop a new habit. It may take multiple days to reinforce a new habit but today will be the beginning of that good habit. I am tired of being a creature of bad habits and will start replacing those bad habits with good ones that can allow me to maximize my day.

Today I will never stop. From the moment I wake up to that moment I look in the mirror at the end of the day, I will not stop. In the past I have been the master of spurts, hours where I would accomplish something before I took long chunks of time off. That is absolutely not going to occur today. I may not be able to dedicate every single moment today to escaping the Rat Race as I have personal and family responsibilities that take priority, but forward motion will be my mantra today.

Today I will let those important to me know how much I cherish them. I am grateful for the support and love those around me have shown in my quest to escape the Rat Race. At times it has meant sacrifice and I truly am grateful for all they do to support me. I will let them know at every opportunity of my gratitude and love for them and their importance in my life.

I have no idea what tomorrow brings and I am tired of dwelling on the successes and failures of the past. Today is my day. Today I will make a difference. At the end of today I will be one day closer to escaping the Rat Race.

38 responses to “Escape the Rat Race

  1. Yaira October 1, 2013 at 10:42 am

    Woooooooooowwww….. (All of the blogs in rich dad are just awesome!!!) but this one is just The most powerful blog, I have read thus far!!!! Thank you!!!! Is as if the writer took that out of my thoughts and wrote it out!!! Completely inspirational!!! But most importantly, it gears to me to ACTION!!! — not now, but RIGHT NOW ACTION!! Thank you rich dad company for all you aré doing!!!!

    • S. Sridharan October 2, 2013 at 11:44 am

      Dear:

      Seen your article and it is very nice.
      Please note that I am doing my home work so that, everyday, I will be closer to escaping
      the Rat Race.
      Hats off to you and your Team.

      Regards.

      S. Sridharan
      Chennai, INDIA.

      • Alexander Akotia October 16, 2013 at 9:42 am

        Remember the son of rich dad? If your home work is school work, be careful! You need to start building a system where your money works for you.

  2. Marcy October 1, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    Could please tell the actual author of this blog thank you so much for this healthy, positive motivational inspiration?!! Much appreciated!!

  3. jasodra October 2, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    this is the best self training i can give myself thank you for this greatly appreciate

  4. Olatunji Babatunde October 4, 2013 at 11:40 am

    this is for me.

  5. Francisco October 6, 2013 at 1:52 am

    Gracias, es una gran verdad, y también es un gran motivo para comenzar, esto es para mi y voy a hacerlo !!

  6. Musbaudeen October 6, 2013 at 8:52 am

    This blog is a masterpiece and an energizer that I need to put myself in motion

  7. Empowerment UNABRIDGED October 11, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    Reblogged this on Empowerment UNABRIDGED and commented:
    This just really gave me the boost I needed. I chose to reblog it so that I can share it with others and keep coming back to read it when I need it. This is something we can read daily and it will change our lives!

  8. Andrea Russos October 15, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    Wow …. this really left me with no more words to say …simply full of meanings related to grow as human beings ….i’ll repost this article ..it gives me power to enforce my attempts to escape from the rat-race condition and to live a real life !! ..

  9. Sylvia October 15, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    Love this thank you Rich Dad i will read this and try to follow this everyday! I have escape from the rat race and tho im still struggling i am committed to continue to do better and build my own wealth.

  10. Nilton Cuinhane October 16, 2013 at 12:54 am

    Robert,
    Thank you!

    Nilton

  11. youngcouplesrevolution October 16, 2013 at 1:13 am

    Reblogged this on Young Couples Revolution and commented:
    The Rat Race ~ How to escape from it….

  12. Lucy October 16, 2013 at 1:27 am

    I like this, it has the power to change anyone. Thank you

  13. Arnold October 16, 2013 at 1:55 am

    Great I needed this to start my day!

  14. gabriel oyelami October 16, 2013 at 4:15 am

    i so much love this article, it will me. thank you.

  15. Bastien October 16, 2013 at 6:46 am

    Let us not exaggerate guys. These things are already common for me but do not lead to leaving the rat race yet. One thing though is true: cease a good idea to make something out of it, but use your ratio as well. Not everything you think of can be made real.

  16. aw October 16, 2013 at 8:49 am

    A beautiful manifesto. It is on my cubicle wall and will be read every morning. Exceptional. Thank you.

  17. kunle October 16, 2013 at 9:05 am

    Wow! Robert, this is really nice and even more advice for entreprenuers! Good job! More power to ur elbow, u r changing lives for d beter! God bless u!

  18. Andrea Gerak (@AndreaGerak) October 16, 2013 at 9:38 am

    Reblogged this on Andrea Gerak Blog: http://www.andreagerak.com/blog/escape_the_rat_race
    I guess this was the first time when I reblogged something, I found it really great advice, thank you very much!

    My words to it:

    As a reminder so that I can always find it easily when I need it 😉 and it is anyway such a great “To Do List” that probably very few people exist on Earth who wouldn’t have to use it anymore.

    Although I myself am definitely not living in the “normal”, 9-to-5 rat race life, (thanks to first of all the lecture series Your Wish Is Your Command), but because learning is a lifelong process, certainly there are some bits in my life to improve.

    Don’t read on, if there is nothing in your life that you wouldn’t like to improve, and some of the points below might be a little tough to actually do…

  19. KayleneF October 16, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    I am putting this on my wall (vision board) to be read over and over again!! Thank you!

  20. Pam Trainor Hurst October 16, 2013 at 3:16 pm

    Reblogged this on pamhurst531 and commented:
    I think this is excellent advice.

  21. Anthony October 16, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    Great words and very thought provoking. I need ideas for a business that will allow me to escape the RAT RACE and allow me to take control of my life.

  22. Mathew Edeh. Nigeria October 16, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    Rich Dady company you blog have richly blessed me. To me it is super fantastic

  23. Patricia October 17, 2013 at 8:47 am

    Well, the greatest advise to start the day with.. Thank you.

  24. Stephen October 17, 2013 at 11:30 am

    Dis is an eyes opener for me 2 escape rat race.i wil escape.yes i wil.thanks

  25. Neha October 17, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    This is really going to work?

  26. msmikate@gmail.com October 17, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    Thanx! am proud to be in RICH DAD Community.

  27. Lazarus October 22, 2013 at 7:43 am

    powerfull words,I’m going to live by these word every day and Thank you!!!!!!!

  28. shannon October 28, 2013 at 10:00 am

    this is the best articles I’ve ever read on Rich Dad & probably the one of the best I’ve EVER read!

  29. Pingback: 10 Things I Am Going to Do Today to Escape the Rat Race – Robert Kiyosaki

  30. Pingback: What would you do if money was no object?

Leave a Reply

