Rich Dad Education – Real Estate Blog

Dedicated to Elevating the Financial Well-Being of People from All Walks of Life

How I Became an Elite Trainer

I feel truly blessed to be an Elite Trainer for Rich Dad Education.  It is such an awesome organization.  The Trainers and the Mentors are frequently asked, “How did you get your position with Rich Dad?” (We are also asked, “How can I be picked to teach for the company?”  But, I’ll save that one for another blog in the future.)  Well, understand that it takes a special investor to even be considered for a trainer or mentor position. And, just because someone is a great investor does not mean that they are good at teaching the same skills to someone else.  In the first two years of doing real estate investing, I tried to teach about a dozen people (mostly family members and close friends) how to do what I was doing.  Out of that group, only one person ever did something with that knowledge, and he only did one property.  I felt like a teaching failure.

But, I kept on investing and doing better and better.  The company took notice and a few years later the Director of Education at that time asked if I ever considered being a trainer.  I shared with him my experience of trying to help loved ones.  I explained that I told them exactly what to do to be financially free and practically no one listened.  He then asked me a question that blew my mind … “What did you charge these loved ones for the education you gave them?”  I sheepishly said, “Nothing.”  He replied, “Well, that is why they did not do anything.  They did not have an investment in their success.”  He also told me that my experience would be different if I chose to teach for the company.

I decided to try it for one year.  The main reason I wanted to teach was that I was seriously afraid of public speaking.  (I mean SERIOUSLY afraid!)  But, I figured that it was time to get over that fear.  Plus, I felt that if I was a better public speaker, then I could do a better job connecting with the sellers, tenants, and tenant/buyers that I came across in my market.

Well, that one year has now turned into over eight.  I keep teaching an occasional class (as my business and family life allow it) because I love doing it.  As a trainer, the company considers me an ‘independent contractor’.  This means the teaching pay is nothing to write home about and there are no typical employee benefits like health care.  But, I get other benefits … benefits that I never was told of when I first began to teach.

One of the benefits I get is that I always learn something when I am teaching others.  It is usually something that I can use in my current investing to make it more efficient or successful.  Or, it is a new idea that will allow me to take advantage of a recent market change.  Some of these ideas have been very significant.

Another benefit is that I have become friends with many of the other trainers and mentors.  As a result, I have been able be a partner in deals outside my home markets.  I’ve also been able to be a part of much larger investments then I would normally have been able to do by myself at this point in my investing career.

All of this reminds me of the old adage that says, “What you give out comes back to you.”  Another way of saying it is, “Helping others to become a better investor will help you yourself become a better investor.”

Eric Buchanan
Rich Dad Education Elite Trainer and Mentor

2 responses to “How I Became an Elite Trainer

  1. David Fresas April 17, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    Eric, I know you have overcome your fear of public speaking, as well as a very good instructor. You have a gift of teaching because after taking your class, I walked away with knowledge and power to go out and achieve my goals. Keep up the good work. God Bless you and your family.

  2. S. Sridharan April 18, 2013 at 6:30 am

    A nice article. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

