Rich Dad Education – Real Estate Blog

Dedicated to Elevating the Financial Well-Being of People from All Walks of Life

Why We Train and Mentor

In writing this blog, I wanted to find inspiration from the Rich Dad Education Elite Commercial Courses I have just finished teaching. The participants were from varied backgrounds and varied skill levels and I felt if I found a common bond it would provide great insight for all our readers.

I went into the first weekend wondering which part of the training would receive the most attention from both classes. It was no surprise that in both classes the two subjects that spurred the most questions were the real estate cycle and the syndication deal structure. Since I have already written blogs on those subjects, I looked at the most serious moments of the classes and to my surprise in both classes it was when I was asked why I teach.

I remember asking the same question of my trainers when I was a student. “If you are successful in real estate why are you teaching?” To quote Nelson Mandela, “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.”

When I was a student, just like many of you, I wanted not only to improve my financial future but to also make a difference in the world. I quickly learned there is a fine line between sacrifice and suicide and on more than one occasion I needed to be reminded that this was to be a profitable business. An analogy I often use follows the airline instructions, “be sure to secure your own mask (future) before assisting others.” As our business grew, and about a year after I resigned from my job, I missed having people around me that wanted to talk about real estate. When an opportunity arose for me to mentor, I jumped at the chance. I am still constantly being reminded that I can only assist others if I take care of my own business and last year reduced my mentor schedule to just four mentorships.

Even with the cutback in my schedule I am still constantly asked why I travel so much and work so much. I have to ask, “why not.” Lots of wealthy and powerful people in the world work all the time. Warren Buffet, Oprah Winfrey, Donald Trump for example, you have to understand if you love what you do, it is not work. Financial freedom should not equal boredom.

All that being said let me share a few of the rewards from my teaching. I have had the opportunity to work in cities I did not even know existed and made friends around two countries.

I worked with a husband and wife from the Midwest. English was a second language for them and they struggled to understand the concepts of assignments. They stayed engaged in the mentorship for the entire 3 days but I came home feeling it would take a miracle to make them work the business. Two years later I received an email through the company website. They stated that their oldest son needed braces and the payments were more than they could afford. The couple worked the business exactly as taught and ended up assigning a deal for $2,500 the amount needed for the braces. They thanked me for their financial freedom, because freedom to them meant having the education and tools to provide emergency funds when needed.

A second student attended several Rich Dad Education Elite Courses but just did not have a desire for the business. He appreciated the knowledge but was not sure how he would put it to use. Less than a year later he approached me at a seminar and could not wait to share his story. It turned out no one in his family owned a home. When he chose to buy he was surrounded by negativity and fear. He was bursting with pride because he did purchase a home and he KNEW it was a great deal and no one was ripping him off. Now his family puts him on a pedestal and he is working to help an entire generation become home owners.

This weekend I was happy to have one of my many students who now work the business full time share their story with an entire class. The excitement it causes is contagious and it is wonderful to see the person to person motivation and positive reinforcement for life changing experiences.

I really only thought I would teach for a year or two to give back for those that taught me and to enrich my own business. Each year there is a time when I am ready to quit and then something great happens and I say one more year. As our business has grown my husband travels with me more and also stops in to share and answer questions.

I guess the best way to sum up why I teach is pull a line from a multitude of accessories I have been given over the years. They are gifts from the Leigh Standley line: “She packed up her potential and all she had learned grabbed a cute pair of shoes and headed out to change a few things. Her heart glowed with a degree of happy assurance.”

Diane Bowman
Rich Dad Education Elite Commercial Course Instructor

2 responses to “Why We Train and Mentor

  1. stacy Y Keller April 4, 2013 at 11:30 am

    This is what I needed this morning. I have studied rich dad education for 14 + months. the coaching, the education and the new tools I have has changed my life and this week I do not have the energy to go to work at my usual occupation, in fact I feel depressed but when i am actively learning real estate which I know is the catalyst to changing my life, to opening up my dreams to help and support others I feel alive and unstoppable.
    Thank you Diane for your story, I am reminded once again about the journey!

    • Diane Bowman May 9, 2014 at 4:01 pm

      Stacey. As I am once again reminded why I do this, I just wanted to check in and be sure you are pursuing your desire for a changed life.

      Grab your potential and go change the world.

      Diane Bowman

Leave a Reply

