Rich Dad Education – Real Estate Blog

Dedicated to Elevating the Financial Well-Being of People from All Walks of Life

Excuses and Success

He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else. ~Benjamin Franklin

Use your mind to make money… and not to make excuses. ~Robert Kiyosaki

When you ask a six year old why they didn’t do their chores, they might respond with “I forgot.” When you ask your employee or co-worker why a project isn’t completed they may respond with, “I didn’t know it was a priority” or “I have not had enough time.” When you ask your congressman why the government is a mess you likely will get a long-winded response on why it is everyone else’s fault but theirs. Excuses are like air, they constantly surround you wherever you go.

Most excuses come in the form of answers to why specific actions were not performed. For example, the question of why you were late to work may be responded to with “my alarm clock didn’t go off.” There was a direct action that needed to be performed, in this case getting to work, and when it is not performed an excuse almost inevitably follows. These are the most common forms of excuses because one’s day is comprised of responsibilities that need to be performed and when they are not performed, people want an answer. Rarely are excuses needed for larger life-altering questions because frankly, people are too polite to ask the difficult questions. “Why aren’t you successful?” or “Why haven’t you lived up to your potential?” or “Why are you so unhappy” are questions many people are never asked in their entire lives.

While these questions are rarely asked directly by others, these are often the questions that individuals focus on internally and come up with the most excuses to explain away. When someone is not successful, many will blame their parents, the education system, their boss, their co-workers, their own spouse, and countless other individuals who stood in their way or did not contribute to their success. They will blame faceless institutions that for whatever reason create rules so that they specifically would not succeed. They will blame a lack of time in their life, as if for some odd set of circumstances time only gave them 16 hours a day to work instead of 24. They will blame everything under the sun except their own actions for why they haven’t achieved success.

Why you have not achieved success in life is not due to your intelligence, situation, or opportunities that have been given you. There are countless stories of individuals that started out with less that have achieved more. If you have not accomplished what you want in life, then you need look no further than the choices and actions you have made up to this point. If you are reading this and are thinking “Yeah, but my circumstance is unique” or “Yeah, but I don’t have…” or “Yeah, but (insert countless excuses here),” then you will simply continue down the path that has led you to this point.

It is time to become the type of individual who eliminates excuses and takes responsibility for their actions. It is time to become the rare individual that others can look up to as a model of accountability and performance. It is within you to achieve great things and taking responsibility for where you are in life is a wonderful first step.

As you move forward with the goal of being excuse-free, ask yourself a few questions:

Do You Really Want to Be Successful?

Achieving success takes drive and determination, qualities that are not easily artificially produced. Except for the most ideologically driven individuals, almost anyone would take a winning lottery ticket if it was given to them. Almost everyone claims that they want success but few are willing to put in the time, energy, and make the sacrifices necessary to become successful. What do you want to accomplish in life? What are your goals? If success truly isn’t something you want, then you will be unlikely to stumble into it.

Who and What Have You Blamed for Past Failures?

Answering this question honestly will take a level of self-awareness that might make you uncomfortable. Have you constantly inwardly or outwardly complained about a lack of time? Have you thought to yourself that if you had a different boss, or business partner, or a more supportive spouse that you would be more successful? What about your situation have you lamented about that you have seen as a hindrance to your success? By identifying and analyzing what you have blamed in the past, you are taking an important step to eliminating that excuse in the future. If you catch yourself in the future uttering that same excuse, just give yourself a little slap on the hand, smile outwardly and compliment yourself on the fact that you no longer are the type of person that blames others and situations for your circumstances.

What are the Excuses that have Prevented You from Moving Forward?

It is likely that you have a business idea or area of interest that you have hesitated to move forward on. Maybe it is a great idea for a website, or you know that your area needs a new type of business that isn’t available. Maybe you are interested in real estate and know you can be successful but haven’t taken that next step. Whatever the area may be, there have likely been excuses that you have told yourself on why you haven’t moved forward with your idea or ambition.

Some of the most common excuses in this area are a lack of time, resources, and specific knowledge that prevent people in their mind from taking the next (or sometimes first) step. When you catch yourself stating any of the countless excuses that can arise when you are tempted to put off action today, simply remember the quote from Robert Kiyosaki:

“The most life-destroying word of all is the word tomorrow.”

There will never be the perfect time where you have an unlimited amount of time or resources, performed all of the perfect planning, and learned all you need to know. Take your idea and run with it. Replace excuses with action and you will be amazed at the transformation that begins in your life.

16 responses to “Excuses and Success

  1. George January 31, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    Great Article. Let me be the first to say, I take total responsibility for where I am in life. I will take the right actions, discipline and focus to get to where I want to go. I Remember also – to enjoy the journey!

  2. Paul January 31, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    A brilliant article and thanks for much help i have derived from rich dad poor dad articles and website contents.i will only blame myself incase of failure in life as am exposed to financial literacy.

  3. Edward Guzman February 1, 2013 at 3:08 am

    Everything I read on this article makes senses all too often I hear people in my workplace complaining about their boss and their personal finance. I just look the other way and move on with my life building my own business. Most people don’t have a plan B in place your plan A maybe in jeopardy that’s a scary place to be.

  4. Jai February 1, 2013 at 6:39 am

    I was told by man that changed my life. No Excuses Just Results. Words to live by. Weather it’s business or persona. These words apply. If your wife is being neglected, don’t say okay or say I am so busy or tired. Then get upset when she leaves. No Excuses Just Results

  5. Gilbert Reyes February 1, 2013 at 11:54 am

    I appreciate your article on Excues & Success. Pleaae continue sending me your news lettter.

  6. Edward Mora February 2, 2013 at 4:59 am

    It is interesting that the word ‘tomorrow’ is a dangerous word here too. I was just reading a denominational (Christian/religious) book written by a friend of mine, and the subject is the same. The word tomorrow is a dangerous word, and action now is what matters. My friend too says, in the book, that one must decide to act and be ready for the great things that will happen right after because, by doing something, God gets involved in our success. It is interesting to find the same subject in such separate and different sources!

  7. billfields February 2, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    I can’t blame my failures on anything or anyone except myself. I say that because I don’t have a wife, children, or boss or anything else in life getting in my way to keep me from going to my desired distance or goal. My biggest problem is me. I’m a “Professional Procratinator” and I’m the leader of the pack. I quit my JOB 3 1/2 years ago to work with a company as an Independent Associate in a position where others are making 6 & 7 figures annually. What have I done since I became an associate with this company? The answer is very close to or virtually nothing. Because I am a procrastinor I’ve been putting off absolute necessities that must be taken care of before I can work my business. I, can see from Edward Mora’s comment that “Action Now Is What Matters.” I take full resposibility for where I am at this time and it’s fully up to me take positive action everyday and that means starting today, right now.

  8. terri February 2, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    This is exactly what I needed to read tonight. I never comment….things are about to change. I better keep a journal of the amazing journey in my near future. 🙂 I’m finally feeling the fire of all fires to take that fearful leap into the unknown.

    • terri February 2, 2013 at 10:04 pm

      Ps: leaping in with both feet….Rich Dad RE investing advanced training. Thanks to Lee Escobar. He is awesome!!!!!! Thank you for being with me at the “right time right place” right now & giving me a Right Mind. “E & S …shut up….B & I thoughts allowed only” 🙂 lol

  9. Alfonso Meneses February 3, 2013 at 3:41 am

    Really a good article. Sounds easy but very hard to achieve. I liked the statement that tomorrow is the most life-destroying word.

  10. Pingback: Excuses & Succes | kyle's blog

  11. Angel Guadalupe February 5, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    You are the Problem and You are the solution. 😉 Good material and gold nuggets to apply to one’s personal life.

    -Angel Guadalupe

  12. Awilda February 6, 2013 at 9:21 am

    Thanks for the help identifing the real obstacles that detain us acheiving the success

  13. Lance E Stella February 6, 2013 at 9:45 am

    The answer for me came in a little book by Charless Capps titled “The “Tongue,a Creative Force”. When I read it for the second time, it exploded for me.
    Lance E Stella

  14. Brandon Gentile February 7, 2013 at 12:55 am

    Reblogged this on Brandon Gentile and commented:
    Which way will you go? Will you make excuses or will you make the decisions necessary to succeed?

  15. Pingback: Excuses & Success | Kyle's blog

Leave a Reply

