Rich Dad Education – Real Estate Blog

Dedicated to Elevating the Financial Well-Being of People from All Walks of Life

Universal Laws Of Becoming An Entrepreneur – #1

It has been an honor to serve as a Rich Dad trainer for the last nine years. Through financial education and Robert Kiyosaki’s concepts I have not only been able to achieve financial freedom but now I teach these principles to my children. Therefore I have written a unique set of agreements to assist you in the process of becoming an entrepreneur. I will post one here a week. Keep your eyes open for each agreement.

Agreement #1 Of 50

I Will Always Do Exactly What I Say I Will Do

I’ve heard the message, “I will always do what I say I will do; my word is my bond” throughout my lifetime. I have always thought I understood its meaning, and for the most part, I work to keep the agreements I make with others. However, I am realizing what I really need to examine is, “With whom do I make and then break agreements most often, and why?” Suddenly I realize the one person I break the most agreements with is me! The truth is, I know when I make agreements with others, and that if I break them, there will be accountability and consequences.

On the other hand, when I break an agreement with myself, no one else knows, but my excuse is a justification of my unwillingness to keep my agreement. This law forces me to recognize the fact that when I break agreements with myself there is accountability and consequences to both my future and my family’s future. It is the most important Universal Law of Being an Entrepreneur, because unless I adhere to it, the rest of the agreements become meaningless. When I give my word, I am making an agreement, a promise, and a pact that must be kept. If I don’t keep that agreement, I am actually giving myself permission to fail and remain in the same financial situation I am currently in.

It is clear that there are tremendous consequences that result when I break agreements with myself. It is also clear that many commitments I break are broken at an unconscious level, allowing me to just sweep them under the carpet.

Keeping my word is the first step to building my character, and it is the first step to growing into a leader of others. Once I have become completely clear about the monumental importance of keeping agreements with myself and with others, I have taken the first step of building the character and leadership skills that will allow me to create the life of my dreams and a legacy for the future generations.

14 responses to “Universal Laws Of Becoming An Entrepreneur – #1

  1. Donna March 30, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    I look forward to the next universal law of being an Entrepreneur!!
    Donna

  2. Carol Valenzuela March 30, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    Great agreement #1. Can’t wait to read the rest!

  3. Joseph April 1, 2012 at 4:20 am

    I can see exactly where you are coming from. Many people are more apt to keep there word and agreements with others than themselves. Every New Years day people make agreements with themselves and end up failing themselves. Keeping our word with others and especially ourselves builds character. To truly lead others with have to be able to lead and trust ourselves.

    • gregsdowning April 1, 2012 at 8:08 am

      excellent…. and to truly become an entrepreneur you must become a great leader of others. you will know you have become a great leader when people line up to follow

  4. Symone April 1, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Coach! Hello! What a joy to be reading the Rich Dad Newsletter and see your post here this morning. Talk about timing!? I happened to be researching some things regarding business yesterday and I came across an article that said something to the effect of “you do not have to keep your agreements…” I stopped immediately. I did not even want to read any further because the rule you taught us came to mind. You know what I think about that article? “Whoooo Caaaaaarres!” (Smile) You’re awesome Coach. Hope all is well. And again, Thank you for everything!

  5. Samantha April 3, 2012 at 10:20 am

    Im 23 and have started investing two years ago in real estate I have three so far. Lately I have been scattered and unfocused which is affecting the way I have been working and handling my decision making. I stress because I feel I am moving to slow for where I want to be but I know in the next couple years it’ll start to snowball just getting to that point is tough. I have so much more to learn. I found this blog today and now I am excited because I feel reading these will keep me focused and inspired along my journey of making a great life for myself.

    • gregsdowning April 3, 2012 at 10:31 am

      welcome aboard. Have you been to any of the Rich Dad Tracings yet. if not I suggest you find the next one close to you and attend. im teaching in Boston this weekend.

      Gregory Downing

  6. Symone April 3, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    Samantha, you are not alone! Keep pushing forward and never give up. The trainings really do help. If you are able, I would suggest getting connected with RichDad through one of their classes. If you go to the RichDad site you can see where the classes are being held. Here is a link: http://www.richdad.com/programs/RealEstate.aspx

    I must stress that it is VERY important to surround yourself with like-minded individuals. If you are in an environment where the people who you are around on a regular basis do not have similar goals and a mindset like you need to have to succeed, that can work against you. I am speaking from experience. You have to push through it. Take an inventory of yourself and your surroundings. Whatever is working for you to push you toward your goal – be mindful of that. Use it and perfect it. But those things that are keeping you down – reconsider.

    Greg is an amazing asset to the Rich Dad staff. If you are near where he is going to be teaching, try to go if you can.

    My best to you.

    • gregsdowning April 3, 2012 at 6:59 pm

      I LOVE U ALL……….”Togther We can Set In Motion The Change That Will Change The World”

      By
      Gregory Downing

  7. Symone April 3, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    Bless you Coach! Teamwork! That is what it is all about. Just finished my first online class with the Rich Dad Real Estate Investment Group. Great info plus it keeps me motivated! I love it!

    Have a great evening everyone!

Leave a Reply

